Latest Posts »
Latest Comments »
Popular Posts »

.cn/.asia Domain Name Scam

Written by Jevgeni Kabanov on September 29, 2009 – 11:28 am

We just received an email offering us to register a domain name ahead of competition. First I took it to be the real deal, and replied, but luckily before actually doing anything I did a search in the internet. Ladies and Gentlemen, I almost was a scam victim :)

However now that I know this is a scam, I just might to try and turn the tables on the scammer. If I succeed to do anything fun, I’ll be sure to let you know :D

The letter is verbatim below to serve as a warning to those even less careful than me:

(If you are NOT CEO,please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.Thanks.)

Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on Sep 28, 2009, One Japan company called Seed soft investment Corp” are applying to register(zeroturnaround) as internet brand name and domain names as below (zeroturnaround.net.cn zeroturnaround.org.cn zeroturnaround.mobi zeroturnaround.asia zeroturnaround.in zeroturnaround.hk zeroturnaround.cc zeroturnaround.tw in etc.).

After our initial checking, we found the internet brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 10 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by Seed soft investment Corp” unconditionally.

We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wu
Senior Director
TEL: +86 21 69929440
Fax: +86 21 69929447
Website:www.govqipeng.org.cn
Address:Room 902,8th,nong 1518,Jinyuan 1st Road,Jiading District, Shanghai city.


Posted in cool | 8 Comments »

2 Tweets

8 Comments to “.cn/.asia Domain Name Scam”

  1. ekabanov Says:

    .cn/.asia Domain Name Scam http://bit.ly/9qUWw

    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  2. downgrade Says:

    .cn/.asia Domain Name Scam: We just received an email offering us to register a domain name ahead of competitio.. http://bit.ly/4kfBso

    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  3. teamzoombu Says:

    Guys – thanks – we just got the same message verbatim.

  4. WebSketch Says:

    We got the same email, nearly verbatim. Do let us know how it turns out. We have been “talking” to Kevin as well; let’s see where that one goes.

  5. Jevgeni Kabanov Says:

    @WebSketch
    I tried to get him to send us a letter, but he never got back.

  6. Jacob Says:

    I got the same letter from same people, after discovering they are scam I decided to have some fun with them, I told them that I would like to purchase all domains for 20 years and they now waiting for 7900$ dollars from me which will never arrive…I just want to brew some excitement among them.

  7. Toomas Römer Says:

    @Jacob Cool! Keep us posted on how it goes….

  8. Tina Cannon Says:

    We received the same but now “Kevin” is “Jake”

Leave a Comment

Additional comments powered by BackType